A Patriot

Got up this morning & mowed the lawn - it was quite wet but the mower cut like a dream. Did a bit in the garage & then after lunch I took C to the hairdressers where (unusually) there was a place to park & so I parked & from there I had a wander along the canal towpath - something I haven't done for quite some time. The sun was hot but there was a cold wind which lessened as I walked. At the Highbridge Walk bridge I stopped & took a few shots like I always do when I tripped up one of the shallow steps and almost came a cropper. The camera took quite a lot of the force as did my left knee; but fortunately I was OK  - a quick look around to make sure no-one had seen & then back down to the towpath. There was a planning notice a little way along and as I started to walk towards it this voice said  "I shouldunt bother goin down thare because it is shut at t'other end". "Why is that ?" I ventured. "Its cuz a the buildin werks - you'da thorrt they would 'ave put a big sign up tellin us wouldn't ya, rather than putting up a titchy bit a paper that no-one reads". I had to agree and we stopped & passed the time of day. " I shall never understand why they pulled down the Ship" he said referring to an old Pub that used to stand where the new University building is.

We talked for quite a while before he introduced me to his female companion whose name was Vera. She was 87 & originally from High Wycombe. He on the other hand was a mere boy at only 78. He was originally from the small village of Cuddesdon in South Oxfordshire which is close to where C's family are from. Just then we were joined by another chap pushing a petrol mower - his name was also Peter & he liked to keep the tow path grass mowed outside his canal side cottage.

Back at the hairdressers just as C was paying so my timing was good despite me worrying that I would be late.

Nicola has just delivered Zak to us so she can have an hour or two to herself so there may be baby pictures tomorrow.

A fine sunny day with a biting cold wind.

The extra is of Peter that mower man 

What sad news regarding the death of Victoria Wood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.