Poet's Daffodil

I switched my day to work at home this week to Tuesday, so that I could sleep in a tiny bit after the late night I had the evening before. It's not every Monday night that a girl gets to trip the light fantastic with Bruce Springsteen and friends!

I can't say enough about how wonderful the weather has been the past week or so. We've had so many sunny days in a row that it's hard to believe. Blue skies, wall-to-wall sunshine, warm temperatures. We had a few clouds on this day for the first time I can remember, and then it cleared and the temperatures dropped a bit for a cooler night.

Rain is expected Thursday and Friday, but Tuesday and Wednesday are to be quite nice, so my husband packed up his gear and left on a backpacking trip without me. The cat and I spent a quiet day together around the house, and the only place I went was the yard, where I discovered that my poet's daffodils are in bloom.

I have also been watching the hummingbird migration maps online, and noticed on this day that the map was showing that the little birds have made it into Virginia, and are starting to make their way into Pennsylvania. Could it possibly be that time of year already?

I looked at the calendar and realized that it's usually around April twenty-something that our own hummingbirds start to return, so I mixed up some sugar and water and hung a feeder in the butterfly garden. Listen, can you hear the sound of tiny wings far away, bringing our beloved Lady Greensleeves home?  <3

The song to accompany this image is John Denver with one of my long-time favorites, Poems, Prayers, and Promises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.