Kaleidoscope Art: The Succulents

Earlier this year, I discovered a new toy at Childhood's Gate, the children's garden at Penn State's Arboretum. It was winter at the time and all that I could see through the brand new garden kaleidoscope was ice and snow. But it was fascinating, and I played with it a bit, as one does, and I took pictures of the images I found inside.

I went back another time to discover huge pine cones in the bowl. They made for very interesting images, all pine-coney shaped and brown. And on this day, I discovered yet a new treat: a variety of interesting shapes and textures of succulents planted in the main bowl.

I looked through the three kaleidoscopes, and this was one of the many enchanting images I found. It is almost like an organic form of art. You can clearly tell the image was formed from succulents. If you look closely, you can discern their leaf shapes among the patterns on display.

The song to accompany this image is Simon and Garfunkel, with Patterns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.