A Drone Fly And A Bee Fly In A Dog Fight

Intent on shooting macro today I stationed myself in Butterfly Alley. I saw a peacock and an orange tip but concentrated on an aerial battle that was going on over my head.

Every season I try to shoot bee flies in flight against the sky. My aim was to get the insect and the fading blackthorn in the background. I always feel a bit sad when the flowers start going over. I don't know what attraction I might be for a bee fly but they buzz and hover above me until a drone fly, with its legs dangling, heaves into view. I do know what the drone fly might be interested in. They have been known to lay their eggs on human anuses. Their rat-tailed maggots develop happily inside the rectum, dangling their breathing tubes outside. (Only added this for effect, it very rarely happens in developed countries with good sanitation and nutrition.) 

The drone fly constantly buzzed the bee fly, which scooted momentarily away but soon returned above, hovering nearly long enough for me to get it in focus, before jerking off at an angle. Amazing where the time went when I was absorbed in ack-ack. :) (My pic is of the bee fly.)

I photographed my first pair of bee flies mating today. They landed and the wings of the one at the front were still but the other's were whirring away. :) (Extras)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.