Happy Birthday Your Majesty

I intended to go to the beacon lighting to celebrate our Queen's ninetieth birthday in Hertford but changed my mind. I had read that the newly refurbished Hythe Quay in Maldon was going to be opened in honour of Her Majesty at lunchtime. I got there just in time to see the Mayor unveil the plaque. One barge was dressed overall but sadly the flags were taken down immediately the ceremony was over. I had planned to go to Heybridge and get a pic of the dressed barges from the other side of the river.

I went to Bradwell instead until it was time for the beacon lighting ceremony at St Lawrence. It said 6:00 pm online but when I arrived at the top of St Lawrence hill the place was deserted. Not long afterwards the organiser arrived and started decanting all manner of goods from her car into the church. She invited me in, saying that the time for the beacon lighting had been changed. There was a wonderful gathering in the stylish new annex in the Queen's honour. We were given a glass of fizz for the loyal toast and there was a lovely spread of tasty finger food for all. The St Lawrence Singers performed three songs including, "Who Is Sylvia?" which brought a tear to my eye.

As we walked from the church to the beacon we could see at least two others burning across the Blackwater in the distance. Ours ignited easily and burnt brightly, to the delight of all present. I've really enjoyed Queen Elizabeth's birthday in the area where I was born and raised. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.