Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Evening climbing

I plucked up the courage to go and join the Oreads at Birchen Edge in the Peak District this evening, and I'm so glad I did.  I'd been putting it off a bit because I felt that they'd be better at climbing than I am.... and they are, but so what. They're bound to be really, I've only been at it for just about a year.  Some great help, particularly when a long-standing member held my foot in a small, slippery pocket until I could stand up properly and put some weight on it so it stuck, and I also had great encouragement and advice on doing the crux move on another route... but I just couldn't do it, I was tired and it wasn't doing my shoulder any good.  I should've stuck with my original decision to sit and rest with a cuppa, but no, I had to say that I'd have a go!  The extra shows that particular member completing that move... he could reach the holds, but of course there was more to it than that.

Anyway, I shall definitely be going to Wednesday Evening Climbing again, it's worth the hour drive each way, even though the gritstone and the midges were biting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.