Wide Angle Woods

I visited a 'new' wood today.  It is actually very ancient and one of the wildlife reserves of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire Wildlife Trusts - known as BBOWNT. There are quite a few reserves over the three counties, largely managed by volunteers who a great job in taking care of the acres of woodland and other habitats. Finemere Wood is reported to have a fantastic range of flora and fauna but I was after the bluebells - as it is 'that time of year'.  

Later on in the day I returned to Dancers End Wood, closer to home and another BBOWNT reserve where I had been yesterday. I had left the dog lead there and I wasn't surprised to find it exactly where I had been photographing.  I had taken some lenses to do close ups but this I found incredibly difficult due to lack of space - with bluebells all over the ground it's tricky finding space for feet and tripod etc!  I used the wide angle lens and also the Lensbaby fish-eye - I was really pleased with the effect that lens achieved. As it is Wide Angle Wednesday it was fun to try a slightly unconventional approach towards these tricky blooms.  I focused on one bluebell to distort and distinguish it from its surroundings - and finding space for my feet without including them was not easy and probably looked ridiculous - but no one was there to watch!
For Abstract Thursday tomorrow I am hoping to create a 'twirl' pattern with one or two bluebell pics- that will depend on time as it's a fiddly process!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.