DavzoBroon

By DavzoBroon

The Glen

Good news, Gavin got home today so off I went to get him and he was home at 12.30 pm. As he is getting pampered by Cheryl and is in control of the tv remote I decided to take myself out to find a blip for today.


I drove down the Glen which is next to the village of Roslin which is famous for the Davinci Code, Rosslyn Chapel and all that malarky.

My mum was born down here with her two brothers 70 years ago. With no running water they had to wash with cold water from the well, outside toilets, no street lights and the house had two rooms so it must have been a tough upbringing but my mum said it was a great community spirit with there only being a dozen houses.

There are no signs of the houses now, just a few foundations here and there. This blip today is a view of the River Esk and the far banking, this would have been the typical view the residents would have had when they stepped out their front doors.

My uncle died last year and his ashes are scattered down here where he was born so I stopped and had a wee blether with him. He always said to everyone the sun always shines down the glen and today that was certainly true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.