EmmaDavies

By EmmaDaviesPhoto

Inspired by Dutch masters

I was working at The Sussex Flower School today, taking photos for their advanced floral design students. This beauty was presented to me and I just had to have a go at recreating the Dutch style that is on display at the National Gallery at the moment.

Key points - strong side light, deep shadows, and a central area that is brighter than the rest. It's missing some grapes, a pineapple and a few creepy crawlies, but I love the effect I managed with no prep.

Technicals - diffused daylight to the left, fill light at 1:4 over my right shoulder just to even up the shadows a bit. ISO200, f22, don't know what the shutter speed would have been exactly - maybe 1.5 secs? I'm increasingly working with front to back froth* of field, seems to be coming back into style.

*edit: should say depth of field, although I like the concept of froth of field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.