don’t you - step on my …..

blue suede shoes are in
ditch your smart phone for the clam
old skool is now cool

Anniemay is up North again, this time on a shopping spree with one of her sisters.  She’s taken a large suitcase which is half empty.  It won’t be coming back like that.

I’m left at home for three days with nothing to do …….. 

I go shopping - not something I do that often - other than for food or guitars, that is.  

I need new glasses.  Does that count as shopping?  I book an eye test.

I pass a shoe shop and these shoes are in the window.  They're now in my wardrobe.

Then a coffee in John Lewis.  

Now this is interesting; what is the protocol for people eating/drinking alone?  I look around and there are a few people in my situation.  Most fiddle with their phones or pretend to read the receipt for their latest purchase.  I’m reluctant to get my old phone out on the grounds that it will embarrass those around me.  Fools - if only they knew.  Old phones are the new ‘smart’ phones.  

It would appear that hipsters and opinion-formers have forsaken the smartphone for the retro look of the clam-shell.  (See BBC news website).

It had to happen - once again we have bikes that look like my dad’s, cameras that look like they should use film, vinyl ……. old skool is now cool.  

I’m just glad I didn’t throw out my Farah Stay-Press hipster pants and my Ben Sherman shirt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.