My new orchid

I went to meet Camilla in town to finalise the leaflet I have produced for her which she will drop in to all the ward residents explaining she is now their parish councillor.  Because there were three candidates for the three seats in the ward she has been elected without contest.  Lucky her.  I have an actual election to contest. This will be the eight year if I get elected so hopefully the residents at least know me, although I am not aligned to a party.

I need to finalise my leaflet by Monday and then distribute it to each household in the ward.  Some friends are going to help including Camilla, so I am really grateful to them especially as I still find walking difficult rather painful with my continuing achilles problem.

The rain set in at lunch time so I have been indoors all afternoon.  I saw that a couple of blippers have posted in the Flower Friday challenge, so I am doing the same.  This orchid sits on my desk since I bought it last week.  I particularly like the colours and tones as they remind me of orchids I photographed in the special orchid house at the amazing Botanical Gardens near Kandy, Sri Lanka, which Helena and I visited just after Christmas. I hope I can look after it as well as those were, although the conditions were perfect in the tropical heat and with the slightly opaque light inside the hot house. I still haven't back nblipped my pictures from that trip which I so want to do.  But there were so many to choose from that I have been procrastinating. Perhaps once the election is over, life will settle down? Who am I kidding?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.