Blossom and Butterow

I drove Helena to the market in Nailsworth where she was trying out a stall to sell her cards and dropped her on time at 8-30am.  This to my mind is rather early for a Saturday morning but it was a lovely day. I had brought my camera bag but my foot was feeling too painful for the walk to the river at Capel's Mill to see if the kingfisher was at home.

So I went shopping at Waitrose where I could feast on a bacon roll and a strong coffee before shopping for the weekend meals. By the time I got home and addressed the housework and had another coffee all I wanted was to go to the cabin and sit reading the paper.  But as soon as I got there I realised the bird feeders needed refilling and the arrival of a woodpecker tempted me to pick up the camera.

I waited and watched and a few small birds visited including pairs of bullfinches, robins and blackbirds.  While waiting for birds to arrive at the feeders my focus kept moving behind and into the distance across the valley towards the hamlet of Butterow perched on the far side where the ancient track ascends the hillside towards Rodborough Common. The layers of new growth and colour in the various blossoms delighted me so here he is one of them.

Some hours later after I'd picked Helena up we sat in the cabin and she has now blipped her picture looking across the cabin from about the same spot where I'd taken my picture looking out of the window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.