CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The mummers at Frampton on severn

I went for a wander this afternoon after dropping Helena off at a small party in the countryside near Cam. I had an idea to go looking for Cattle Egrets rumoured to be visiting Frampton on Severn so headed for the village green. I was surprised that there were quite a few parked cars, many more than normal, and then found I had wandered into a traditional parade of Mummers close to the real ale pub. I kept to the edge and took some pictures. I don't really understand what they represent but the kids seemed to enjoy joining in on their hobby horses.

I ended up at our usual pub on the banks of the River Severn at Epney and stood for ages enjoying the spot I like so much. I was particularly pleased to see the swallows had arrived for their breeding season and watched them swirling as they fed in the air above the river and just over my head. Four swans flew off majestically from the middle of the river, a heron flew upstream with languid wing strokes, an old motorbike arrived loudly to great effect and the light was beautiful in every direction.

I looked towards the sun and saw glittering waters of the river looking downstream which I've added as an 'Extra photos' below. The flocks of gulls on the sandbanks in the distance were gradually being moved towards the bank by the rising incoming tide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.