Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

One of a Kind

I had a cute squirrel shot in a flowering tree that I thought I would use for both challenges today...until I went for a walk.  I spotted this unusual bird among a bunch of American Robins.  He was the same size and shape and was digging for worms with the others.  I can only assume that he is a hybrid unless someone can identify him as something else.  See my extra for comparison.  He was in the park where Tony and I often walk so I will be looking for him there now.  I was excited to see a new bird today, especially because I think he's one of a kind.  :-)

Edit:  After some browsing online, I'm fairly certain that he is a leucistic pied American Robin.  And this has just been confirmed by Kimb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.