Cheese

Friday lacked purpose and achievement.

Well, that happens to us all from time to time, I suppose.

Even Blip didn't inspire me or even jolt me into action.

So, "dinner" it is. I had a pasta bake for lunch so I wasn't very hungry. A few slices of salami and some olives.

Britain has a grim reputation for cheese, especially among our fellow Europeans. (No apologies for the political point.) Industrial "Cheddar" which is just a collection of E numbers and is cheap but not cheerful.

Well, we have plenty alternatives from small producers these days. They don't often find their way into the supermarkets - insufficient volume probably, or maybe they won't play the supermarkets' game on price.

The blue one I have was bought in the local Lidl, however. They have two other Scottish ones available. The label isn't specific, but as it does state they are made in Tain (a bit north of Inverness) my guess is they're from Highland Fine Cheeses. I buy their Strathdon Blue when I see it. Better than the Nevis Blue they supply to Lidl, but the Nevis Blue is excellent.

The wee bit of white cheese is Clava from the Connage cheesemaker - Ardersier, just east of Inverness. Not available in Lidl, but also delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.