Reunion

I was invited for dinner on Saturday night by two of my oldest friends.

A couple of years ago they bought an old farmhouse near here and have been renovating ever since. Ian was working in Lebanon when they bought it and now spends the working week in London. As he's not at home much, progress hasn't been as quick as he'd like. The kitchen is now functional.

Before anyone asks what Rosie does, I'd explain that his career has been in construction and so he's the one who is in charge of a project like this. They're doing a lot of the work themselves.      

Ian and I played rugby in the same team for a couple of years - 1979-80. I injured my neck and had to retire about the same time as he retired with a ruined knee.  I was best man at their wedding in 1980 something.

My last big reunion with Ian was when he was working in Libya (not long before Ghaddafi was deposed). We met in Malta for a long weekend. Ostensibly it was to discuss his tax arrangements and possible "residency" in Malta, but I think we were both too hungover to go to the meeting with the Maltese lawyer.

The Blip is where I stopped on my way to their house to check I was on the right road. It is in the middle of nowhere. However, you can see a blue motorway sign in the shot. They are 5 minutes from the Perth/Edinburgh motorway as well as being in the middle of nowhere. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.