Under the A1

Today had to be focused around going to one of TT’s favourite lunch venues.  Having been running every morning he was having a rest day, so I got up early and went for a walk.  It was a lovely morning and there were lots of sheep and lambs running around in the fields.  The weather turned grey, but we headed to Cragside, where as usual we by-passed the huse and headed up to the adventure playground and the labyrinth.  It was threatening rain so I sat in the car and read my book while they playparked.  I also gave the labyrinth as miss as I knew it was going to be really muddy and I had the wrong footwear on (what an excuse!).  We all went for a walk around the lakes in the rain – which did go off.  I am always amazed at how peaceful it is there, when there are so many cars in the estate car park (down at the bottom of the hill). 

We then headed off to Alnwick for lunch.  When we emerged it had brightened up, so we went off for a walk along the River Aln.  It was muddy in places, but generally not too bad.  I did get covered in mud when a crazy dog jumped up on me and wouldn’t get down.  The dog wasn’t on a lead, the owner had no control over it, and goodness knows what happened when it came across the sheep that were in the field.  The afternoon got brighter and brighter and we were all feeling rather over-dressed with all our layers on.

Later, BB got a Lego set that he had had his eye on all week, and TT treated himself to a Star Wars jigsaw!  Then we had leftovers for tea!

This bridge carries the A1 over the River Aln.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.