Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Dragons??

No, not Dragons flying Mallards.
 
For those of you who were expecting to see a picture of Milton Keynes or an image from along the way, you will be disappointed and all due to Abilleo Greater Anglia. Up very early for a Saturday and on the railway station platform at 0635 hours for the 0643 hours train to London Liverpool Street Station. A delay of nine minutes was on the display board. To this notice, like the 0743 hours it was then updated to delayed. The ticket seller later came and told us that the train in front of mine, the Stansted Express had problems with its brakes and trains would not run again until it was movev and this would be at least forty minutes. I warmed up in the house and went back out later only to be told that the train had not yet been moved; he was doubtful that the 0843 hours would run; I asked for a refund on my ticket. I did consider going into Cambridge and catching the fast train to London Kings Cross, but all of the trains to Cambridge had been cancelled; they needed to use the ‘down’ line to transfer the broken train onto in order to send it back to Cambridge. Once the trains were running, it was far too late; arriving in time for lunch and three hours in the afternoon was, to my mind rather pointless. However, this situation is not unusual for commuters. When my husband worked in London he was often very late home due to various transport problems.
   
So what have I done with my ‘free’ day? I have caught up with Masterchef, my husband hates it and any other programmes of a similar ilk and so I always watch it on iPlayer on my computer. I have also sorted out two small surveillance cameras, which I originally bought to capture images of the wildlife in the garden at night. We (and others in the village) have had more problems with boys hammering on the front door and it is possible that the cameras will pick them up too. Yesterday they made the mistake of going up the lane, past the house; I suspect that they thought we were out. Unfortunately for them, I heard them coming back and was ready with my camera; I managed to get some good shots of their faces, before they saw me and turned their heads away. I have contacted the Joyce Franklin Academy, again, they are wearing their uniform and the Newport Village FaceBook page has asked me to post pictures on FaceBook. Not only are they a nuisance to us and others, they are also trespassing when they run backwards and forwards over the bridge and play on the platforms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.