WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

On an entangled bank*

.. trying to find different angles again. No apologies for yet more flowers; I'm quite enjoying this mini-project. I took a lot of photos that were actually in focus and correctly composed, but somehow I liked this fiddled-with one best, and the blip assistant agreed. Alternative: spot the poppy.

I baked my white sourdough this morning and it turned out brilliantly, if I say so myself -- I'm very pleased, as previous attempts have not been great. I decided to spare you another bread photo though. Then out for a walk in the garrigue, followed by the AGM of the village social club. 

Meanwhile S was off in the Pyrenees, helping friends shear sheep (although his contribution was restricted to stuffing fleece into sacks). It's shockingly uneconomic -- the shearers' pay for 200 or so sheep comes to at least twice the amount paid for the wool, and of the 10 people participating only two (the shearers) were being paid. Everyone else did it for nothing, and the owner of the sheep then laid on a massive 6-course feast for the whole team. 

It is interesting to contemplate an entangled bank, clothed with many plants of many kinds, with birds singing on the bushes, with various insects flitting about, and with worms crawling through the damp earth, and to reflect that these elaborately constructed forms, so different from each other, and dependent on each other in so complex a manner, have all been produced by laws acting around us. - Charles Darwin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.