Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Some woodworkings.

    I thought I would blip a very small selection of some of the items I have made over the past 3-4 years to give you an idea of what I make.
    I will point out that I have done larger items but it was not convenient to put them on this small display and as you know I restore pieces of furniture and chairs.
    Except for the glass bottle which I did not make!!! but I did turn it into the lamp you now see. I turned the wooden fitting for the light itself and also made the base for it to stand on.
    From left to right.... Large Spalted sycamore bowl 10" diam: and 3" deep. Spalted means a fungus, usually dark in colour,  has grown within the wood. When turned produce lovely patterns as you can see.
    Two stumpy candle sticks made from three types of wood, all stuck together and then turned.
    The chair made from three woods Back rest is Yew, seat is Red Pine, and the legs are Yew.
    Bowl between the chair legs is Ash. This is one I made with a professional turner to learn the skill when I first was setting up my workshop so I could use my lathe and tools correctly right from the start.
    The two small bowls by the lamp, the darker one is Purple heart and the other is Ash again. If you go with a black background you may well see the purple colour better and also with the extra.
    I have also put an extra in minus the large bowl but with a glass acorn  for which I made the base. This is made of two woods stuck together and turned.
    I hope this gives you a little insight of what I make and enjoy doing as well as photography.

Hope you are all having a nice weekend.

Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.