Grimsby Town 1 Chester FC 2

It is on days like today that I really appreciate why it is so brilliant following Chester all around the country as I had a great day out.  

This was the last away trip of the season and although Chester were virtually safe they still needed a point to guarantee safety. They did it in style with a terrific win at 3rd placed Grimsby. John Rooney's opening goal sparked off delirious scenes amongst the Chester fans and the party continued when man mountain Ryan Astles added a second to cap an excellent performance. There were a nervous last 10 minutes after Grimsby pulled a goal back, coupled with the news that Halifax had scored at Forest Green, but the Blues held on for a deserved victory.

Grimsby is one of my favourite away trips of the season so I hope they don't get promoted. I made the journey with a friend and In the morning we found a total of seven geocaches in Cleethorpes Country Park and then along the coast. We then went to our favourite fish and chip shop in Cleethorpes followed by a pint in Willy's bar which produces its own beer and is another favourite of ours.

I think the panorama of the ground is the best I have managed so far. The extra is of the prime meridien where it passes through Cleethorpes. It matches the blip I did on August 21st 2015 on the other side of the Humber estuary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.