Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Ferns in the late afternoon

I'm not completely useless at doing odd jobs around the house but some of them have to wait a while. Gill had been asking me for weeks to mend a wonky door in the kitchen. It wasn't broken, just needed readjusting, a simple turn of the screw. But which screw?

I've been looking at the job off and on for weeks but this morning I decided I'd do it before breakfast after Gill had gone to work. I found a high stool and a cross thread screwdriver. So far so good. Then I Googled how to adjust kitchen doors and found a You Tube video with a chap who just turned a screw one way or the other and that was that. Simples.

I fiddled around with the top hinge and it came away in my hand so that the kitchen door was hanging off a single hinge at the bottom. I managed to get the top hinge back on and then looked at the bottom one but the screw driver slipped and the hinge gouged a nick in my thumb - blood everywhere. Got a plaster for my thumb and cleaned up the mess. Started again. One adjustment seemed to push out the rest but in time, after knocking off and putting back bits of hinge at various stages, it was finished and closed perfectly; but it was mid-morning before I had my breakfast.

At least the weather is improving; just one heavy shower today which had my number in the supermarket car park. This evening the sun came out so I took the dogs to the military land near Frimley Green and blipped this fern.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.