... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Oxford Canal: Canal Swan

Sleepier a Sunday scene in large.

I wandered along to The Trap Grounds this morning, and passed the familiar canal swans en route there. They actually became my main photographic subject for the day: the (new) bird hide at The Trap Grounds has burned down (apparently arson is suspected), and although I saw quite a lot of wildlife, I wasn't that thrilled with my photographs...
I saw wrens and robins along the canal, and saw a pair of bullfinches at The Trap Grounds (although I only got a photograph of the female) as well as a wren gathering feathers for a nest. There are a pair of swans nesting in the reed bed which is exciting; I could see the bright shape of the female through the reeds, and found the male sleepily preening (then just sleeping) when I arrived. I also heard a fracas involving a heron, which I assume was the swans being protective...

My other shots from today are on Flickr (right from a closer shot of this sleeping swan).
Alternatives:
Pottering along
Dripping

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.