Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

FLOWER FOR CHRISTINE

Bit of a strange up and down day today.

Started off with my discovering that the TV I have bought does have Freeview built in but it does NOT record programmes. So its off to town tomorrow to buy a Freeview recorder. My own fault as I should have checked and double checked the specs.

Router arrived as promised and I got myself on to the internet without any trouble. Whew!.

I was a bit upset about TV and generally cheesed off and weary with the week I have had - choosing new TV and computer, ordering them, and setting them up - and the problems I had with internet. So I decided to go out for a little walk. Ended up at the local Nisa. Not much of a shop but I had a quick mooch before heading home. Weather was dull and a bit cool but at least it was dry.

When I turned into my street I spotted one of my neighbours in his garden. As I knew his daughter was ill I stopped to ask how she was. He told me she had died a few days ago.

He was upset and I got upset as his daughter Christine was a good friend of mine during our schooldays at Grammar School. She was a very kind girl who looked out for everyone. After getting her degree she left the area so I had lost touch with her but kept up to date with her life through her Mam and Dad who live next door but one to me.

Christine was just my age - 61 - her birthday was in June the same as me. She was looking forward to retirement. She has been ill since February and been in hospital most of the time since then. She had contracted Lupus and in the end was in terrible pain. At least she is no longer suffering. Her Mam and Dad are in their 80's and it has hit them hard. This bad news made my problems with electrical equipment pale into insignificance.

Neil is due home any time now - he caught ( or I hope he caught )- the 4pm bus from London Victoria and is due in Newcastle at around 11pm.

My blip is of a flower in my garden. Its a Mock Orange - Philadelphus. The bush been in my garden since I moved into the house in 1984 and always gives a good display of flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.