It was a productive day, spreading mulch and opening up the porch for the season, hosing the floor and deck down and uncovering all the furniture and vacuuming it.  We are ready for the season. 

The bluebirds were either in and out of the nest box or perched in the trees nearby, keeping an eye on us. Although we tried not to bother them, there were times when I was near the nest box that the female swooped to give me a little warning.  They are quite timid birds, so the swooping never really came close, but she made me aware of her.  I asked my husband to do the mowing now before the chicks hatch (any day now) and we won't mow that section again until after they fledge.  I managed to capture our dutiful little father-to-be bringing a little something to his sweetheart while she sits on the eggs.  I really love watching them.  

I am getting this up late, as we have had a lovely evening with husband's med school pals.  It ended reasonably early because they all have to go to work tomorrow.  Not me....I will head out early with my camera as it is supposed to be a beautiful day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.