Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Anyone for cricket?

LARGER.

Wow, what a great day I've had again blip-wise! I chose this particular shot as I've never blipped a cricket before - and I liked the green and yellow contrast too.
Today I 've been off work, as my car's in for its MOT (groan). This morning after a good lie-in (much needed) the weather was lovely and an umbellifera growing near my path was buzzing with insect life. So I took my camera out and started shooting - and I spotted this little chap on a poppy. I don't often see crickets, and to come across one whilst my camera was in my hand was a treat, so I knew right away that as long as I had a decent shot, my blip was sorted. On the umbellifera were this Scaevea pyrastiri (yellow banded as opposed to white), a Hoverfly Rhingia campestris and another unidentified Hoverfly.

On a nearby hardy Geranium was this unidentified fly.

This afternoon I also decided to look for butterflies on the bramble in the paddock where I'd seen the Ringlets last Sunday. Not a butterfly to bee seen sadly but as before many insects.- There was one bee Rhingia campestris which was engrossed on a thistle. I spent ages snapping there - at various points it was joined by other bees, and hoverflies, often multiples - pics below:

Side by side ...
There's plenty of room!
Bee and Hoverfly (a particular fave of mine .....)
Hoverfly and 2 bees (one trying to hide round the back!)
Confrontation!
2 of each ...

On the bramble was a good selection:

A Hoverfly
This beautiful metallic green Soldier beetle Oedemera nobilis.
A (male) bee Anthropora plumpies
Another type of bee.
And the piece de resistance (X-rated) - a pair of orange-red Soldier beetles (Rhagonycha fulva) doing what comes naturally (and there were quite a few of them 'doing it'!) lol.

Any help with IDs for those I haven't most appreciated - I like to know what I've taken pics of!

Have a great weekend fellow blippers xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.