The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Relief at Last

There are certain days where I just don't want to rise and shine. Today was one of those days, but an early phone meeting prevented me from pulling the covers up over my head and retreating back into a peaceful slumber.

The sound of raindrops falling on the porch were an added incentive to get out from under the covers, turn off the air conditioning, and open up the windows and doors. Let the cool air provide a refreshing breeze throughout the back of the house, which doubles as my home office when it is too hot to sit in my writing loft.

It was inevitable that I would have to make a trip to the market. How could it be that I am out of parchment paper on the day my daughter decides to bake a cake? How is it that we are once again out of cat food? Mika. The ever growing kitty.

How wonderful it felt today to wear jeans, fuzzy socks, clogs, and a hoodie. In fact, when I got back into my car to head home from the market, I had to pause and watch as the rain hit the car windows. Few people were around. It was a quiet, relaxing moment. The opposite of the manic cacophony of my home.

I invite you to sit a spell and enjoy the peaceful ambiance of an empty parking lot on a rainy summer afternoon.

Don't you just love it?

I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.