sendfrancis

By sendfrancis

Jonker-Walk, Walked

Blip keeps crashing when saving this... 3rd time better be a charm.

End of this month marks 2 years I've been here. But I'm ashamed to say that I've hardly experienced and savoured all that Malacca offers.

Ventured into Malacca's most popular offering, Jonker-Walk. I've been here at night several times now, and disliked it. By day it's a different experience. It's less market-ey. Local businesses, shops and restaurants are open allowing for some dining and coffee breaks away from the sweltering heat. And I got to sample something I can't recall having had before: onde-onde (pronounced own-day) and durian puffs. The former is warm green glutinous something with palm sugar filling dusted in coconut shaving. The puffs were just heaven. Warm, bursting in the mouth with cool durian coulis.

Featured is a mosque tower at a crossroads. Found the low hanging cables rather disconcerting but liked how they looked, contrasting and weaving against the white. Extras include an abandoned shop, temple, traditional malay house turned museum and a sunny yellow facade that made me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.