CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

How to spend a Birthday

A dull, cold day.

My day began with some nice cards and messages and the news that my youngest son's partner's daughter had had a baby at 10.00pm the night before and so just missed sharing my Birthday. He was a bouncing baby boy of 8lb 4oz - my second great grandchild. Nooo I here you cry, Ian can't be old enough for that - or is that an echo of my own cry lol.

Then it was off to a Children's Panel session where we would decide the future of a total of five children. Two separate children had their Supervision Order terminated because things were now going so well but, sadly, three from the same family we had to decide to have taken into care to keep them safe.

A quick lunch with my wife in Waterstones where I resisted all temptation to buy any more books. However, these lilies looked beautiful, although the perfume was quite overpowering.

This evening I have to attend a Panel Training Session - they do like to keep us up to date with all the changes. I have just signed up for another three years service - maybe they will be my last!

Not the day I would have planned for my Birthday - but we did have our weekend trip to the Highlands as a present. Funnily enough, the high roads we were on were closed today because of heavy snow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.