Dawyck Time

Time for another visit to Dawyck gardens.

I arrived just after a minibus full of visitors who needed a cup of coffee before their tour of the garden.  I waited patiently in the queue for my coffee and, more importantly, a walnut and ginger scone.  then I found I had no cash but plastic came to the rescue for even such a small amount.

In the garden I wished I had taken another lens.  And it snowed.  Quite heavily.  And I didn't put on my cagoule.  And it was cold, very cold.

The garden is much changed from my last visit.  The snowdrops are now only foliage and replaced by daffodils.  The rhododendron are glorious - some having finished flowering but have left a colourful carpet of petals, some are ready to burst and some are at their best with glorious whites, pinks, yellows and reds.  Tree branches are thickening and blossom is emerging.

And the pheasants are much in evidence doing what pheasants do at this time of year which means doing things in pairs.  They are magnificent creatures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.