Little Tern(Sternula albifrons)

This is the gorgeous Little Tern I have been watching, I thought it was a Saunders's Tern but it has been confirmed as a Little Tern. For scale see my extra! In the background is a huge(in comparison!) Swift Tern, so you can see how tiny this bird really is. Funnily enough this bird is not in my Common Birds of Oman by Hanne & Jens Erikson which is why I thought it was the Saunders's Tern. They are so similar I needed help with identification, they both have that white triangle on their foreheads and are the same size. It seems to be almost down to the little white supercilium around the eye and a very, very slight black mask difference. Anyway not very much is know about this little bird and apparently it's numbers are on the decline. I love this little bird with his black tipped yellow bill and his orange feet! I see they are common on the beaches of the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.