Back garden Nuthatch

We enjoyed a visit to Batsford Arboretum today, near to Moreton-in-Marsh, in the Cotswolds.
After we arrived home, I was just sorting out my photos for a blip, and popped into the kitchen to pour the tea out, when I spotted this little fellow on a  feeder. Below him, on the ground, was a very sweet little wren too. A dilemma as to where to point the camera. Wren - nuthatch? Nuthatch - wren? I was totally undecided, but plumped for the nuthatch, so here he is.
I've just discovered the the name derives from its habit of wedging a large insect or nut into a crevice, and then hacking at it with its bill. I have an idea that it's the only British bird that feeds when upside down, but I could easily be wrong (I frequently am!)

Maybe it'll be Jenny's turn tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.