Black and white ....

.... with a dash or two!
Youoregon1 is trying to make Abstract Thursday even more creative! This caught my eye as I was having a quick wander around Bantry! Any ideas? I think I'll have to tell you - it's the curvy back side of Bantry Library! Pretty wild when it was built back in 1962 and it's meant to represent a dolmen; it's actually quite interesting and must have caused a bit of a flurry.I've added an extra so you can see what it looks like today - my pic comes from the curved wall at the end, which is indeed moated.
I had to smile though. I was in the library busily pouring over a book on Irish place names as you do and the noise in there was immense. No shhhhhhing and disapproving looks that you'd get in an English library. A mother was reading with great gusto to her toddler who was roaring with delight; another little child was hurtling around shrieking; a very loud conversation was going on at the main desk -totally unbook related;  another animated conservation was taking place at the computers and the chap stacking the shelves was singing.  I was obviously far too quiet for someone  popped by to see if I was okay!

We're going off piste for a day or two, heading to darkest north Cork in the search of some Bealtine wells! It's May Day on sunday, the BVM's special month and the start of the Celtic festival of Bealtine so it's all happening at some wells.  It's also technically the start of Summer here. Yes there  is snow on the hills no so far away! Catch up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.