Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

I'm Back....

Hey there Blipfoto, I'm back. I've really missed my daily diary journals, I've tried other platforms but it all comes back to Blipfoto. I like to write about my day, I like to look back at the days, weeks and years and I love to watch how my girls have changed, remind myself of the funny things they do.

So, what's been happening? What have I missed?

Today I have been mostly feeling sorry for myself; sorry that I'm having to ask friends and family for help, sorry that I can't yet do what I want to do and sorry that I'm worried people will never know how much I truly appreciate their help.

I had an operation nearly two weeks ago. It wasn't a serious operation but it was in hospital terms a major operation. I've been told to allow myself 6 weeks of healing and genuinely thought that I could get away with two weeks. It turns out that two weeks isn't long enough and that I need to take it week by week and give my body time to heal. I'm an active full time parent with a family to keep, I don't do sitting down, I don't do resting; it's all new to me and it's making me feel down.

My husband works hard and is doing a fabulous job of keeping everything going. Friends and family are really helping out. I get checked on regularly by one person or another and I feel so very grateful to everyone for their well wishes, kind words and fantastic help.

I know that if I try to speed up my recovery, I could unintentionally cause a relapse and at worst need another operation. I know that I need to take it easy, I know I need to listen to my body and I know that I need to allow my body time to heal. However, there's this little voice in my head that's wanting me "to just get on with it" and "Don't be asking too much of people".

Today I celebrate 20 years since my first date with my (now) husband. And how have I spent my day? I had a lovely breakfast with my best friend, most of the day sewing my daughters names in their dance costumes and then a take out with my hubby. Oh the eventful lives we lead ;)

To be fair, 20 years together in our generation, is an achievement, we both come from "broken families". So yes, we do have an achievement to celebrate and be proud of.

Happy Anniversary Dicko - lub yub xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.