But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Felix.

Just how we acquired this resin cat ornament escapes my memory, but it was probably a Felix cat food promotion many years ago. His purpose today is part of this week’s “A Year With My Camera” exercise related to playing with colour balance. I’m a little bit at odds with the tutor, though not very much, in that I don’t believe in always completely removing colour casts. It was nearly three years ago that I blipped The Old Lady blowing out the candles on the cake at her 101st birthday party; the warm yellow colour made the picture for me; and here, for example, I’ve tried to create the illusion of a street lamp using a candle for illumination and think that the residual yellow tint helps with that. I think it was Van Gogh that, when criticized for painting purple shadows retorted that, “That’s the colour the shadows are.” Not that I would dream of comparing myself with him; and I certainly have no intention of cutting off my ear.
 
With Felix, I’m not entirely happy with the texture of the background, the kitchen worktop doesn’t quite cut it with me so I might return to try a repeat with some suitably textured paper.
 
Mrs TD is now safely installed with her sister in the Midlands, she’s there to attend our great niece’s wedding; I’m excused such functions as the very loud discos that follow such family occasions do turn me into a grumpy old git with a tendency towards violence. Many years ago I was fortunate enough to be allowed to baby-sit Saturday’s bride in order to avoid such an event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.