But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Snow on the Pentlands.

I was surprised to see snow on the hills when I left home for the start of today’s cycle run; an observation that explained why I, and in particular – my hands,  were cold. The weather, however wasn’t bad and a lot of our “fine weather” friends missed a good day out although, we saw a lot of interesting sky indicating that places not far away were getting rather wet.
 
In the afternoon after crossing some rather rough road surface, I noticed that my satnav was missing from my handlebars and shouted out to the back-marker (who was inexplicably in front of me) that I was going back for it. My calls fell on deaf ears but there was a lot of traffic and I was concerned about my investment in modern electronics. I did find it and, since the mounting bracket was smashed, I assume it had been run over a few times. The device itself was, surprisingly, undamaged. Having been separated from the rest of the club, I made my own way to the coffee stop and went through Bo’ness which gave me a good view of the Longannet Power station which closed just over a month ago on the 24th of March; it was duly recorded and narrowly failed to make today’s blip. I also made a mental note of a few other possible blips on the way.
 
The blip of the snow on the hills was taken after coffee as we approached Mbra and, as I write this on Friday the 29th, not only is the snow still there, it was significantly added to last night but the weather and visibility has precluded a repeat blip. The amazing thing is that the prevailing wind at the moment is what we would normally think of as a “warm” westerly. Well it isn’t warm just now, though the forecast suggests that I’ll be able to open some beehives tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.