Tour De Yorkshire - Stage 1

I popped out to see the first stage of the Tour De Yorkshire this afternoon  - it passed just a couple of miles away.

I went to Newton Kyme, between Tadcaster and Boston Spa and waited by the side of the road. Whilst waiting I was amusing myself watching the flying lambs in the field behind me - see extra..

Having never been to see a race of this grandeur before I was surprised by the number of police motorcycles and cars, plus all the marshals' motorbikes. I think they must have outnumbered the cyclists!

This is a shot of the leaders - about 5 minutes ahead of the main group. They did look rather cold and fed up...at this point they were riding directly into a fairly stiff wind - I was having trouble standing still and I was freezing!

A huge phalanx of support vehicles followed the race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.