The epiphyllum beginning to flower

I have had a relatively lazy day with occasional forays to the garden. I carried a couple of plants out of the cabin for a day in the sun, which probably didn't suit them that well when it started to snow and sleet, followed by a hard rain shower. Then I fed the birds and returned to the cabin to shelter from the strong wind and happily sat watching them with a cup of coffee.

Later in the afternoon when the light had improved I tried some close up photography of some egg capsules of a moth which seems to lay eggs in the same place each year.  I will try again another day as it actually needed a tripod to focus closely enough in the slightly dark conditions.

But I couldn't resist turning the macro lens a couple of feet to the left to catch this epiphyllum flower which has just started to open. They don't appear every year so I am always pleased to see them. They suggest that my attempts to keep the cabin warm through the winter have been successful. I expect I try again when they are in full flower as they are rather magnificent. I don't know which hybrid this plant is as there are many of them with quite slight variations in their flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.