Wet goldfinch after the rain storm

I have been busy both this morning and afternoon delivering my election leaflet around the local area.  Camilla came and helped this afternoon until the very intense black cloud finally dropped its cold and wet content on us. We got home in a rather bedraggled state and had well deserved cakes and flapjacks with tea whilst chatting with Helena.

Then I spotted the woodpecker on one of the feeders in the rain, but it flew off when I opened the back door. I found my camera and took it out to the cabin accompanied by a slightly stiff drink. I opened the cabin window looking out across the valley and waited.  Quite a few birds arrived and seemed keen to eat the sunflower seeds. There were several bullfinches, a blackcap, two robins, two blackbirds, a pair of nuthatches, many tits including the delightful longtailed variety and three goldfinches.

This one sat looking around and at me after the rain finished and the sun had suddenly burst through the thinning cloud. I'm not sure what the strange large white circles are, possibly an enlarged raindrop on a spider's web. It isn't on the lens as it appears in the same place in relation to the tree when the lens moves. I like the rather strange array of colours in the scene and particularly the goldfinch's red and yellow patches.

More leaflets tomorrow so I must rest my weary legs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.