Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Krispy Kremes

Backblipped on 21st July 2012

This seems like an extremely strange picture to post for today. However, I really really wasn't in the mood for taking pictures at all, and this was the only one I could actually manage. So, a dozen Krispy Kreme donuts it is!

The Wonderspouse stayed off work, given the situation with MiL - it was clear he wasn't up to going anyway.

We tried to get on with some sort of life, but it didn't really work quite right - everything felt rather strange.

We eventually got the news we'd been expecting around midday, just after FiL had finished talking to the doctors. MiL had died shortly after 11.30, as peacefully as could be expected, with FiL by her side.

FiL was shattered and exhausted, and was on his way home.

The world was skewed out of normal perspective.

The Wonderspouse didn't feel up to going anywhere.

I offered to go and do the shopping that needed doing while I still had some energy, and was going to collect a couple of rat girls. I thought I might as well go anyway, as I didn't know what opportunities I'd have to get them otherwise. Until we were needed, I thought I might as well get on with things.

So I went to Tesco. Since I'd not been drinking much in case of needing to drive to Devon, I resorted to my other comfort - sweet food - hence the Krispy Kremes.

I got the groceries, and collected the girls, who are gorgeous.

Then I went home. It was weird being out - everyone else was just getting on with their lives like nothing had happened, when we were feeling like there'd been some sort of cosmic shift in the universe. It felt odd being alive.

The Wonderspouse opened a decent bottle of wine to toast MiL.

Tough times.

Rest in Peace lovely MiL. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.