Cotswolds Dawn

The alarm went off at 2:40 am this morning. A quick spruce, a cup of tea and slice of toast, and we were off. 40 minutes later we were in the Cotswolds, where we were meeting up with a group at 4 am for a "Dawn Chorus Walk". Leading the group was a local ornithologist. 
We clambered up a hill, and awaited the light. From just an odd robin down in the valley, the sounds quickly gathered momentum until it was in full swing by about 5:30. We had another walk, and then back to the centre at 6:30 for a much needed bacon butty and coffee (second brekky of the day). 
It was pretty cold waiting for the birds, but we were well prepared, and when I counted, there were certain bits of me where I had 5 layers on!
A steady drive home, and we arrived about 8 am.  We then decided to cook some croissants which we had in the freezer, and - yes, another coffee, so we sat outside and had our third brekky, and all before 8:30am.
This evening we have friends coming for supper, so I'm off now (14:30) to have a couple of hours in the land of nod.
This photo was taken when we were making our way towards the waiting bacon butties. A few deer came along in the distance, and it was a lovely soft glowing light. By this point I could smell the bacon, so I took only a few photos of the deer - plus the little tinkers would not turn and face me. 
See? I told you not to get too excited. We did have a grand time though, even if I am now well and truly breakfasted out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.