A Grand Turn-out.

At last - the opening ceremony for our village cricket club's brand new pavilion. (We also went yesterday, as I had the wrong day in my mind!)
There has been a massive amount of work and fund-raising involved, and the new pavilion is super (the jury is still out re the roof colour, but I guess that's a minor issue). 
I'm afraid that I don't follow cricket, but if I did I would have been able to tell you the names of the two who cut the ribbon. I know that they play / played for England, but that's it - sorry cricket buffs out there.
There were more people at the grand opening than live in the village! The phrase I heard again and again was "It's a grand turn out" and it was. It was great to see such support especially after all the effort that had gone into building the new pavilion. 
In other news, I was delighted to see Anne Hathaway's Cottage on Countryfile this evening - I actually thought "I'm sure those are the tulips I blipped the other day" and sure enough they were. And then they showed  a bit about Felix Denis's Heart of England Forest (of which we are members) which I last blipped a few weeks ago. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.