The Bowabs

Here's Mohammed and Nega, junior and senior bowab, respectively, of our building in Dokki, Cairo. Mohammed is very respectful and always rises to his feet when we enter or leave. He sleeps in a small room just inside the front door and I need to wake him up, as I did last night, when I'm on the late run into Cairo. Mohammed's built like an ox and once carried all our heavy arrival luggage up four flights of stairs in one go when the lift was broken. Nega throws his arms in the air whenever I come back and embraces me complete with double cheek kiss. We do all our communication by sign language and have our own private signs for things like 'driver' and so on.

They are our very own dream team!

Dd celebrated her sixth blip anniversary here . . . https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2173095626001092502

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.