A fantastic afternoon!

I went to a performance on Pain, The Brain and a Little Bit of Magic, a collaboration between Professor Anthony Jones and the Knaive Theatre.

With being deaf I cannot usually pick up much at all at performances, but this was about chronic pain and since I suffer from that I decided to go and see if I could pick something up.

I got there an hour early so I could get a front seat, and I did! I spoke to a guy called Sam and told him I was deaf etc and he understood my problems. He very kindly offered to lend me their script for the afternoon. Fantastic! Brilliant!

So I skimmed through it before the performance started. Then when the event started I was constantly referring to it. And then when the audience behind me were asking questions of the professor Sam very kindly relayed the questions to me because I had no idea what was being asked behind me, and I was able to lip read the professor's answers because he was in front of me.

Sam's help meant I understood and heard everything which was fantastic. And it meant I had a 'normal' afternoon that any hearing person gets. Generally I pick up very little or near to nothing in these kind of situations and I am usually exhausted when I get home because of the effort involved. But not today. I had an awesome relaxing experience this afternoon.

The photo is of Sam with a knife and fork and the lit up brain :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.