Early purple orchid

My best laid plans to go on an adventure today were scuppered by Mr U&L going off to the Bluebell railway with a friend!  
Luckily he was back by lunch time, and I was able to go on a mini trip to have another look at the Early purple orchids I saw the other day.
The first thing I noticed was they were much more numerous than I thought, growing along about half a mile of roadside verge adding a beautiful splash of magenta/purple to the Bluebells and Ladies smock.
Sadly at one point at least 5 had been run over by a 4 x 4 that had gone onto the verge :- ( I picked up the one that was completely snapped off and took it home for my Mother, and tried my best to revive the others by standing the flowers up again... but it was a very sad waste.
The Early purple orchid Orchis muscula, is as the name suggests one of our earliest flowering orchids, flowering from April to June in open grassland with non-acidic soil.
It is similar to the Green-winged orchid, but has no green veins on the 'hood' petals of the flowers, and the leaves are spotty whereas the leaves of the Green-winged orchid are plain green. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.