Beautiful Upwaltham church

When I first visited this little church, standing in a field high on the South downs on March 12th on a cold dull day I just knew I would have to return to take photographs of it again and again.
Today was my first real chance to get out and get some shots of it in springtime, and with wonderful blue skies with white puffy clouds and lush green grasses I really don't think it could have looked better! It even had the lovely flag of St George flying over it, which a lady I met there told me meant it was open, and it was!
The  C12 church of St Mary the Virgin, at Upwaltham sits back from the road up a small lane in a wonderfully isolated location, surrounded by the rolling landscape of the South downs. It can be seen as you drive along the A285 towards Chichester sitting alone in a field, although it was less visible before the great storm of 1987 ripped through the Upwaltham valley taking many of the trees with it.
It was so peaceful there today, despite the busy A285,  and certainly somewhere I know I shall be visiting again and again and again.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.