The Wren

By TheWren

Blipped

It was a lovely sunny day so I decided to go back to the walk up Torleum hill which I haven't done for ages. The views from there were fabulous in the winter and autumn. On my way I was thrilled to see a red squirrel near the roadside.

It was very warm walking and I could have done with a bit of wind for the flies!!! ...they were awful. The bracken is incredibly high and combined with the tree foliage, much of the view to the hills was hidden. I took several reasonable shots but I decided on this blip as every time i stopped to take a picture my hands, face and camera were covered in flies and this huge fly was determined to see what blip was about. He even blotted out the only bit of blue sky! So, the blip epitomises my walk today - flies, views and dogs!

Cara and Bruce were debating whether to make a dash for the boggy pond that they could see. Luckily I stopped them in time, although you can see that Cara had already found another to wallow in. I had to make a detour to the river en route home to get her clean.

I also saw a number of ringlets, one darker butterfly and, magically a tiny blue one which I will put in the blipfolio. I think it is a female common blue. I had never realised that they had such superb markings around their wings.

The rest of today was spent trying to rescue fruit which had become defrosted yesterday when the plug to my freezer cut out and it was a while before I noticed as it is in the garage. The small amount of meat has been binned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.