The Wren

By TheWren

pink cow parsley

Following the recent rain I decided to see how the river was looking as I had heard that it had seriously burst its banks on Tuesday following the 2" of rainfall. The river was flowing very rapidly and remained quite swollen although the level had receded, leaving in its wake a certain amount of debris but, most noticeably, the banks of wild flowers which had been unceremoniously flattened!

I took quite a few pictures but, by and large, a swollen river looks just that, a swollen river! There were also a few puddle moments, one in particular where I just managed to capture a puddle with its reflection before Bruce charged in for a drink thereby disturbing the surface completely. No blipping respect! However I finally chose this one as the flower of the pink cow parsley had demanded to be blipped as it was doing such a great job in lighting up the woodland path, surrounded as it was by lush green foliage. Its correct name is Pimpinella major Rosea. and I don't think I have ever noticed it before. Once home I discovered this insect taking its fill and that confirmed the blip. I have tried to look it up but without success so am hopeful that someone will be able to ID it for me. I particularly liked its transparent wings, through which you can see the pink blossom, and its angular face which made it look rather serious and old fashioned! If anyone manages an ID (and I will undoubtedly be embarrassed if it is very common!) I will edit the journal.

By the way you may see a glimpse of a SP in the shiny part of the insect's back!

I am off now to pick blackcurrants and more gooseberries from the garden.

Edit: Thanks to SheenaghMcLaren I have an ID. Your Hover Fly is a Pellucid Fly,Volucella pellucens. It's one hover fly I don't like to see too many of as they are fond of laying their eggs in beehives. Their larvae parasitise the bee larvae. Having said that, they normally pick on wasps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.