Almost Mono Saturday

Presenting Mr. and Mrs. Pigeon!  They were perched on our pergola, preening and grooming and keeping themselves cozy.  There is nothing else on the pergola yet as the grapes vines are just beginning to get the feel of the season.

We went to good friend H's 65th-and-Retirement in the evening -- what a bash!  The food was good and I had 4 cups of tea, which was just as well as I was the designated driver (as usual).  There was a little skit, which the Dutch like to do when somebody is celebrating something special.  It was fun to watch!  H and his wife and sons had set up two party tents outside and they were warm, but I sat outside and enjoyed the bonfires and the stars.  I did not bring the camera but wished I did as the bonfires were really beautiful.  Rather socially occupied the entire evening, a rarity as I usually just sit down in a corner, find a book, and get lost in it till hubby says it's time to go.  Later, when the drinks were starting to kick in, a group decided to watch the snooker semi-finals.  H will celebrate the beginning of his retirement (his wife is already retired) by spending about two months in Indonesia.  They love to travel and have seen so much, even in places hubby and I don't plan to go to -- such adventurers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.