Lantana

We went with our neighbours this morning to the "Small Animal Market" in a village not far away from us. It is on the first Sunday of the month except during winter and it is the first time we have been. I was surprised how big it is and how many people were there on a dull and windy day. There are all sorts of animals and birds: an enormous variety of hare, hamsters, chickens and chicks, ducks and ducklings, geese, quail, exotic birds etc. There are also produce stores from which we bought some smoked ham, smoked wild pig and some vanilla slices for afternoon tea. The main reason we went was for the plants which are good quality and reasonably priced. We mostly bought spring flowering plants, tomato plants and herbs. I had my camera with me but couldn't get it out with all the stuff we were carrying despite several trips to the car. 
This photo is of my new Lantana plant which I have wanted since I saw my first hummingbird hawk moth on one. They also attract birds, bees and butterflies. I never thought I would buy one as they are a noxious weed in Australia, although don't seem to be a problem over here. The name always reminds me of the award winning Australian film, Lantana.
Lens OM 50mm with extension tube.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.